Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

The Early Year Foundation Stage is a framework that applies to all childminders, schools and nurseries that provide care and education for children from birth until the end of reception year.

You child will be learning skills acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through the seven areas of learning and development. Children mostly develop the 3 prime areas first which are:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development

These prime areas are the most essential for your child’s learning and development as children grow the prime areas will help them to develop skills in the 4 specific areas, which are

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive art and design


Learning & Development

As part of the EYFS framework I work alongside the children through play, looking at different areas of their development. Making regular observations with each of the children in my care, going through the seven areas of learning and development.

I use observation to watch how the children are developing and any area that need working on. Also I will plan activities that will help improve this area. These observations are for my use only and you are welcome to read them at any time, also from time to time Ofsted may need to look at them.

More information on the Early Years Foundation Stage can be found here.